Spaces after a period

Hello.  My name is Hannah, and I like writing with two spaces between sentences.  Why?  Well, for one, it creates a sense of finality, a true splitting between the two ideas we call sentences.  For another, though, it makes things look nice.  It creates a sense of pause and breath, when a paragraph otherwise could look like a long run-on.  That double space permits me to scan with ease, as well as to see what sorts of sentences are contained within whatever I am viewing.  With only one space between sentences, the words just flow together, as if one single idea, unable to organize itself into distinct yet beautiful thought, in the form of sentences.

Hello. My name is Hannah, and I like writing with two spaces between sentences. Why? Well, for one, it creates a sense of finality, a true splitting between the two ideas we call sentences. For another, though, it makes things look nice. It creates a sense of pause and breath, when a paragraph otherwise could look like a long run-on. That double space permits me to scan with ease, as well as to see what sorts of sentences are contained within whatever I am viewing. With only one space between sentences, the words just flow together, as if one single idea, unable to organize itself into distinct yet beautiful thought, in the form of sentences.

Perhaps you disagree with me.  That’s okay.  Fortunately, there is no rule requiring me to write with only a single space between sentences, because I very much dislike doing it.  In fact, there’s no rule whatsoever.  There is merely a preference by various editors and such for the single space.  So, you may use the single space, too, if you so wish.  However, I shall not.  So far as my eyes are concerned, I miss the period half the time when reading, and wonder what on Earth is going on in this ridiculously long sentence (before I backtrack to look for that period that I must have mistaken as a comma, of course).

Anyway, those are just a few of my thoughts for today.  Hope you enjoyed.  🙂

—I wrote this December 30th, but it apparently didn’t post… so, here it is now!—

I'm part of Post A Day 2016

Leave a Reply

