Food with its own standards

I totally respect the French approach to cuisine; I really do.  It’s amazing what can be produced from such a philosophy and background, and I have reaped benefits from it many a times over the years.  However, there is something to be said about the places and people who go purely for quality of taste, with little regard for presentation.  In other words, the hole-in-the-wall kind of places.

Sitting at the small counter in a restaurant for maybe 20 people just now, I watched one guy lopping together fresh gyoza (Japanese dumplings) with his hands and a spoon.  A few minutes later, my bowl of ramen (a sort of Japanese noodle soup) was set in front of me.  I noticed a trickle of the soup on the side of the bowl, as well as a smear of the gyoza wrapper dough.  My thoughts, far from appalled, simply said, “Well, this place is definitely not about the presentation.”

For me, of all people, this is a somewhat surprising response.  However, AAawwzc —-that was a small tangent in which I stopped to pet and squabble with and be kissed by a little fluffy, curly-haired, three-year-old dog (Moku-Moku) on the street… now back — the food, as my experience yesterday at this same shop can attest, as well as the throng of people waiting to eat there later in the evening, as I passed it on my way home, is wonderful.  It’s kind of like the grown men who run the shop care for little else – including presentation and looks – than sharing their good food.  And I think that is wonderful.

And, obviously, it’s delicious, too. ;P
Post-a-day 2017

Leave a Reply

