Japanese Verlan

Tonight, I learned that Japanese has its own version of French’s verlan.  For those unaware, verlan is, for the most part, splitting a word in half, and then putting the second half first.  So, the word l’envers, splits to l’en and vers.  Keeping in mind the pronunciation of each part, you switch them to vers+len, and then alter spelling to keep the same sounds, giving you ver+lan, verlan.  Thus you have the word for backwords, l’envers, in verlan.  As I mentioned, I learned tonight that Japanese has its own version of this same concept.

The sentence I was given was the following:

I ate sushi with a woman in Roppongi.

Onna to roppongi de sushi wo tabetta.

That is the original, normal version. The slang version was then as follows:

Naon to ginroppon de shiisuu tabetta.

ナオンとギロッポンでシースー食った

The funny thing to me about this slang, is the users of it.  The friend who was informing me of this slang mentioned later that “[h]igh school students don’t say that.  Elder people may understand. Remember this.”  And so I have learned the slang of the current 30+-year-olds in Japan.  We think, anyway.  He told me to test it out, so I could see who understood it.  We’ll see how well that goes over – I had a fancy Japanese word to use at the hanami (Sakura-viewing picnic) this past weekend, and everyone just assumed a mishearing or misunderstanding had taken place on their side, because why would a foreigner know such a fancy word, hmm????  😛  But I think this one has better potential for fun.  🙂
Posr-a-day 2017

Leave a Reply

