Twilight in Vienna

When I was living in Vienna, there was one night where I was walking down the street, heading home (likely from school), and I noticed a girl walking near me.  I originally tagged her for an Austrian, but quickly altered the idea, when I noticed her looking around, as if somewhat lost.  Now, I don’t recall if I offered her help, or if she asked me (though I think she asked me, and I had just been wondering whether to offer her help), but it came out that she was looking for a specific spot that was supposedly somewhere nearby, but that she couldn’t seem to find.

I had no idea what place she meant, of course, because I only lived in the neighborhood newly, and smartphones weren’t quite standard in life yet, so, even though we both had local numbers and phones, they did us no service on finding this place.  We looked at my paper map, yet couldn’t find her place on it, and so that didn’t help us either.  So, I told her that I only just lived near the end of this street on which we were standing, so she could come over, and we could just look up the place online at my apartment.

Naturally, she was rather surprised, but rather easily acquiesced – our attitudes and general vibes got on well enough (otherwise, I wouldn’t have offered).  So we chatted as we walked, and hung out briefly in my room as she did her research and found her place, and became Facebook friends before she headed off on her way again.

A few months later, the Part 2 of the final Twilight Saga films was released in Austria.  I discovered this fact somewhat suddenly one night, and quickly looked up the film’s showing times for that night.  Now, I am in no way all lovey-dovey with these films.  I kind of find them a bit terrible, actually, but I thoroughly enjoyed the storytelling aspect of the books, as well as the excitement and goofiness and creativity within the story.  And so, I tolerated the movies for the fun of seeing a visual interpretation of these stories.  But, upon moving to Vienna, I discovered a new value to the films.  Our lending library at my campus had a copy of Twilight, the first film.  English and German language tracks and subtitles were available on it, and I took full advantage of them all, once I discovered how useful the language used in the movie was to my daily life – they’re young adults hanging around with friends and family, and so was I!  So, after seeing the film a million times with German dubbing, Inhad developed a certain fondness for it, a certain bond with it.

Therefore, I jumped at the opportunity at closing out the series with a German version on the film, and on the big screen, of course, as I had done for free with our movie nights at my college in the US for he other films in the series.  It was just a perfect ending!  So, I found the movie playing nearby in just about 30 minutes.  I wanted company, though.  I somehow had this friend come to mind, and shot her a message.  She, too, took to the idea, and we both rushed out the door to meet our front of this theatre in 20 minutes’ time.

I worried that I wouldn’t recognize her, but we found each other quite easily at the theatre.  We were delighted and excited about our film all the way through, and even had our own jokes about it afterward, as we headed to her place for some tea and hanging out.  I’ll always remember when she stopped as she turned to me with an earnest expression of concern on her face, and said to me, “Hannah, ich will dir etwas zeigen,” and, after a pause, we both burst out laughing.  We were just too good at re-enacting that final scene of the film, I mean it. 😛  I later told my roommate about the film, and she taught me the phrase unfreiwillig lustig, which means “unintentionally funny”.

This is a favored memory of mine. 🙂
Post-a-day 2017

Leave a Reply

