Empty Nest

Who knew one could get Empty Nest Syndrome in one’s 20s and without children?

My mom hasn’t even landed in the US yet, and I already feel the emptiness in the apartment.  Going slowly from solo to four in the apartment a few weeks ago was somehow so easy, it felt like I had always lived with at least a couple others in the apartment.  They then slowly trickled away, just as they had come, my mom staying about two weeks after the other two (and the rabbit – I’d forgotten about the rabbit.).

And today, with my apartment finally empty of everyone except for me, and my book being finished, I can’t seem to figure out what to do with myself.  And all I can think about is moving into a house or flat with a couple other girls, and occasionally having tea together in the living room, talking about life and boys and girls and everything there is….

But I still don’t know what my job is in this scenario, which is the only thing about it that gives me a lack of ease and shortness of breath right now.
Post-a-day 2017

Leave a Reply

