Math class in Japanese

Have you ever tried to do math in a written language you don’t know?  I have.  Forget about the part where you might have to wrack your brain, in order to recall certain mathematical formulas and rules from a decade or three ago.  What good does a formula do you, when you understand neither the givens nor the question?  Plus, how do you even find a formula, without knowing what you want to do (like what is being asked of you)?

I think we tend to be consice with our words in math problems in English a good amount of the time.  Sure, we have word problems, but the non-word problens usually are quite short on wordage.  For example, the following:

  • Find the following:
  • x = __  y – __ โˆ A – __ lineAB – __
  • Given x = โˆš7, find y.
  • Solve for b.

That sort of thing.  In Japanese, however, I’ve been unable to solve the problems, simply due to the fact that I can’t figure out what the problems are!  Usually, as soon as someone shows me what’s being asked on these Japanese math problems, I know the math to solve it.  However, the sheer magnitude (is that applicable here?) of words in the math problems throws me entirely to the sharks.  I’m usually quick with math, but I’ve never been slower than I am now with Japanese math.  Aargh!  ๐Ÿ˜›  Haha  ๐Ÿ˜€

 

P.S.  Just for reference, do recall that I am not actually in school as a student, but am a teacher.  And yes, it was normal for me as a teacher back in the US to join math classes.  Because I love it, really, and I can’t imagine life being quite so exciting as it is when I get to do fun math.  ๐Ÿ˜›  I’m a total nerd, I am aware.  ๐Ÿ˜€

 Give it a go!  These are even a bit easier than what I had in class. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Post-a-day 2017

 

One thought on “Math class in Japanese

Leave a Reply

