“I want so much more…”

Tonight, I saw in the cinema the newest version of “Beauty and the Beast”, the one with Emma Watson.  I have little I want to express about the movie itself here; I instead have a sentiment to share, which a particular scene evoked from within me.

As Belle made her hike up the hill, taking in the expanse of lands around her little town, I found myself crying as I mentally sang along with her words.  It simultaneously shocked me and seemed only natural.  Why on Earth would I be crying, when it isn’t even the sappy or sad parts of the film yet?  However, I fully understood my tears the second after I noticed them.

I can’t help but to feel that, with this almost-constant sense of anticipation and longing in my life, I know just how she feels, and down to the depths of my heart.  For whatever reason, I find a huge truth for my own life, expressed oddly perfectly through her words.

I want adventure in the great wide somewhere.
I want it more than I can tell.
And for once it might be grand
To have someone understand:
I want so much more than they’ve got planned.

Post-a-day 2017

Leave a Reply

